THE ABPS CONGRESS MEDAL

- The Congress Medal was inaugurated in 1959 at the Philatelic Congress of Great Britain held at Torquay and the first recipient was Wilfred Haworth, a well known philatelist at that time.
- This prestigious Medal, together with a lapel pin, is presented to just one person each year at the annual ABPS Philatelic Congress of Great Britain in recognition of dedication and voluntary service to British philately at National level.
- Among some of the recipients, now deceased were Mr. and Mrs. Harry Green, the only husband and wife to win the medal, in 1962 and 1963, Fred Myers in 1966 whose daughters Jean Wood and Susan Moore attend Congress regularly, Jean herself having been awarded the medal in 2007, the only Father and Daughter to be presented with the award. Mrs. Kay Goodman, a keen worker with youth philately, and who has a lecture at Congress named after her won the Congress Medal in 1976.
- The senior holder of the Medal is John Field, son of the famous air mail philatelic dealer of Sutton Coldfield, and he was awarded it in 1979, followed by Bernard Lucas, of Leeds, in 1982.

Current Congress Medal Holders

1979	John Field
1982	Bernard Lucas
1990	Neil Russell
1991	Richard Payne
1992	George Gibson
1995	Richard West
1996	Pat Rothnie MBl
1999	Susan Oliver
2000	Brian Asquith
2001	Margaret Morris
2002	Brian Sole
2003	Peter Chantry
2004	John Hammonds
2005	Alan Griffiths
2006	Kenneth Norris
2007	Jean Wood
2008	Robert Johnson
2009	Frank Soutar
2010	Ian Crane
2011	John Davies

<u>Chairmen of the Awards Committee</u> have been:-

Capt B Rogers-Tillstone	G W Dalton
R F W Sheraton	K F Chapman
L Gilbert-Lodge	B Leslie Barker
Neil Russell	David Beech
Alan Wood	Margaret Morris
Susan Oliver	

FOR FURTHER DETAILS CONTACT Awards Secretary ABPS c/o RPSL 15 Abchurch Lane LONDON EC4N 7BW

> E-mail: awards@abps.org.uk Internet: <u>www.abps.org.uk</u>



ABPS

AWARDS

CONGRESS MEDAL

AND

AWARD OF MERIT

ANNUAL AWARDS

CONGRESS MEDAL & AWARD OF MERIT

Notes for the Guidance of Nominators Please read carefully

Nominations should be made on the approved form by an Officer of a Society affiliated to the ABPS. Obtainable on the ABPS website and from the Chairman/Secretary

The Congress Medal is awarded for outstanding voluntary service to British philately at *National* level, to a member of a Society affiliated to the ABPS. There is only one recipient of this medal each year.

Awards of Merit which consist of a framed certificate, are given for outstanding voluntary service to British philately at *regional*, *specialist and local society* level. A nominee must be a member of a **Society affiliated to** the ABPS.

"Outstanding voluntary service" in each category includes work to advance philately at the level appropriate to the particular award, in connection with the Philatelic Congress and/or the ABPS, conventions or exhibitions, and with the activities of an Association/Federation or an affiliated specialist society or a local society, carried out on a voluntary basis over a

considerable period of time. A nominator should expand on the details provided by their nominee and include any particular features or achievements reached whilst holding any position or responsibility.

It should be appreciated that these awards are competitive, and any CV provided by the nominee, such as details of offices held, with dates, should not simply be copied by the nominator(s) but should be expanded and developed if a nomination is to be successful.

Because these awards are for service, the Awards Committee will not give consideration to philatelic research and studies, the formation of collections, journalistic work, giving displays or the reading of papers, as it will be assumed that all nominees will have been involved with one or more of these activities.

All nominees who are not successful on the first occasion will remain so nominated for four years, during which time they will be considered at the annual meetings of the Awards Committee. Unsuccessful nominations can be updated each year by the nominator(s) if they so wish. Each year those who are successful in receiving an award will have their names entered in the ABPS Book of Merit, and will receive a copy of the year page on which their name is entered. This Book of

Merit will usually be displayed at the annual Philatelic Congress. **The Congress Medal** is awarded at the Philatelic Congress of Great Britain at the RDP Ceremony.

Awards of Merit are awarded at a date and venue chosen by the recipient, often at a Federation or Society meeting or event.

Completed nomination forms, duly signed and seconded by Officers of the nominating Society and approved by the candidate, should be sent to the Chairman/Secretary of the Awards Committee.

Forms should be with the Chairman/Secretary by 1st March annually to be discussed at a meeting at the end of March. These can be downloaded from the ABPS website.

ABPS AWARDS COMMITTEE

Susan Oliver - Chairman/Secretary

Brian Sole

Alan Griffiths

Pat Rothnie MBE

Frank Soutar

John Hammonds

Professor John West CBE